Who Knows Why?

Bird

A stranger came to my door today and didn’t make a sound.

At least, I didn’t hear him. When I finally took notice, it was too late.

His small frame had already begun to stiffen.

A fly buzzed near as if it knew. There wasn’t a mark on him,

not a feather appeared broken or damaged.

Yesterday he may have been one of those lovely creatures

soaring overhead with purpose, braving wind, heat and rain

and all manner of danger on the ground.

Today, for whatever reason, he had taken his last flight,

which ended on my doorstep. A small thing, some might say.

Who will even know he is gone? But I know, and I honor his passing,

small, beautiful, sentient being who chose my doorstep for who knows why?

One thought on “Who Knows Why?

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑